Reviews of the Ephemeral

Katie Makkai – Pretty

In Performance Poetry on June 19, 2010 at 7:14 pm

The awesome Tori Truslow, who has a walking in Bangkok blog shared this link with me on facebook. I feel as if performance poetry has been lacking from this blog so I thought I’d share it.

If you haven’t seen it already, it is a performance by slam poet Katie Makkai on the tyranny of the word ‘pretty’ and the scars she bears as a result: ‘I have not seen my own face in ten years’.

The text is by no means perfect but it is a very moving testimonial with a kick-ass ending. It helps too that Makkai is one hell of a performer.

  1. Not exactly a happy video with cute baby animals.
    Strikes home to me, unfortunately…

  2. […] inaugural Saboteur Awards, and now our one hundredth post. The most viewed post features a video of Katie Makkai, the least viewed is this very […]

Leave a Reply

